Best of the Best Gather For TMC's Annual Wheel Master Meeting

on Monday, March 7, 2016 in Awards & Recognition

TMC’s annual Wheel Master Meeting took place this past Saturday, March 5th at TMC’s headquarters in Des Moines, Iowa.

The Wheel Master award was created as a way to recognize TMC’s best drivers. Each year a driver is honored with the Wheel Master distinction based on years of service with the company, safe driving record and overall quality performance.

The meeting brought in Wheel Masters both past and present, and also served as a platform to induct the newest Wheel Master into the prestigious order.

Of the Wheel Masters present, which included two drivers that retired in 2015 each after over 20 years of service, there were a combined 388 safe driving years, and an astounding 46,629,596 safe driving miles.

The recipient of the 2015 Wheel Master award was Derek Boykin, who with 19 years of experience and over two million safe driving miles, humbly accepted the award before a room full of his peers and TMC management. Also in attendance was TMC’s Chairman and CEO, Harrold Annett, as well as Derek’s brother and sister-in-law, who drove up from Texas to surprise Derek on his big day. Read more about Derek and his dedication to excellence here.

Derek (right) accepts his award from his Fleet Manager, Chris York (left), and his Operations Manager, Kyle Miller (center)

“This meeting is one that everyone in the company looks forward to. It’s not only a time to get the ‘best of the best’ together in one room to discuss current matters, but it is also a time where the drivers and office personnel can catch up and reminisce. Every time we get together its like a family gathering during the holidays with all the solid relationships that have been built with one another over the years,” says Travis Johnson, Executive Vice President of Operations. “This group of drivers has been the backbone of this company and helped build TMC into what it is today. We could not have accomplished what we have over the years without them.”

Back Row (Left to right): Mike LaVigne, Pat Lucash, Kevin Dinsdale, Danny Cagle, Jeff Wisgerhof, Marvin Hayes, Mark Skeen, Matt Bohl, Louis Steel II, Derek Boykin. Front Row (Left to right): Larry Brown, Don Norton, Dick Wyatt, Russ Allen, Harrold Annett, Roger Dannen, Les Bohlken, John Wheeler, Alan Wiegard