Convoy Group

Special Olympics of Iowa World's Largest Truck Convoy 2019

on Tuesday, October 8, 2019 in Company News

TMC Transportation once again had the honor of participating in the annual World’s Largest Truck Convoy to benefit Special Olympics of Iowa this October. This was a milestone year for TMC, as it was our 15th year participating in the convoy. It was a rainy Saturday, but some showers couldn’t put a damper on the pride of the Black and Chrome!

We had seventeen TMC drivers participate in the convoy, and there were 112 trucks total for the event. TMC’s Recruiting Department provided coffee and donuts at registration near the starting point, which was on the SW Connector off of Veterans Parkway in Des Moines.

Once everyone was checked-in and the Iowa DOT gave a briefing on Driver Safety, the first three positions in the convoy were auctioned off. TMC secured the first spot, and driver Carlos Burris was voted to take the lead along with one of the athletes. Two other drivers had the opportunity to share their trucks with Special Olympic athletes, and each raved about their experience. For one athlete, it was his second time riding in a TMC truck.

The event wrapped up at the Iowa State Fairgrounds with a celebration for athletes, drivers, and volunteers.

We want to thank the following TMC drivers and their families for their hard work, dedication, and participation in this year’s convoy. Many of them sacrificed time at home with their families, and others had their families attend! These drivers spent countless hours in the appearance bay on Friday night and into the wee hours of Saturday morning making sure that their trucks were in tip top shape for the event. Additionally, we want to thank our dedicated staff in our tractor and trailer shops, appearance bays, and load securement facilities for lending a helping hand!

Aaron Frost
Carlos Burris Jr.
Corbin Wait
Edward Dolsen Jr.
Gene Richardson
Johnny Kaczmarczyk
Matthew Officer
Matthew Szalay
Michael Mason
Nick Booth
Patrick Ray
Robert Johnson
Robert Wilcox
Ron Leblanc
Scott Langager
Stephen Smith
Tony Kimmerly

Check out photos from the event on Facebook!